Make your own free website on
Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture, Marche Slave

List of Recordings||Home


Claudio Abbado
Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture Romeo & Juliet Abbado
The Chicago Symphony has always had a great brass section, but this is the proof. Who cares if it's not musical? When the trombone section completely obliterates the rest of the orchestra during the 1812 it is just glorious! And in Marche Slave when the low brass gets the Czarist National Anthem, Charlie Vernon takes the Bass Trombone part down the octave and blasts over the tuba deep in the pedal range!

Like I said, it may not be completely musical, but it's a testament to what can be done.

-John Lavoie

Where can I get it?
"1812" Overture, Op. 49
1. Largo; Andante; Allegro guisto (12'32)
2. Largo; Allegro vivace (1'59)
Marche Slave, Op. 31
3. Moderato in modo di marcia funèbre (9'29)
Romeo and Juliet
4. Fantasy Overture after Shakespeare (20'27)

The Tempest, Op. 18
5. Symphonic Fantasy after Shakespeare (22'02)